Crafts for a Cause 2013

In the coming months Rhizome Cafe will be going through a transition, and so it’s time for one last Crafts for a Cause. This will be the 6th and final craft fair in support of social and environmental justice held in this beautiful community space that we will all miss so much.

Cfac-2013-Flyer-SquareThis time the event will be a bit different –

• Like always, Community groups have been invited to sell art and crafts to support their organizing work
• This year Rhizome Cafe will receive both the $2 entrance fee and the table fees of individual artists
in order to help them with their transition

Participating artists and organizations include:

No One is Illegal: www.noii-van.resist.ca/
The Purple Thistle: www.purplethistle.ca/
Rising Tide: www.facebook.com/groups/289647251139689/?ref=ts&fref=ts
Fair Trade Coffee from Cafe Justicia: www.cafejusticia.ca/
la mano – ethical textiles: www.lamano.ca/
Prints & Calendars by Favianna Rodriguez: www.favianna.com/
Rhizome Cafe T-Shirts, hoodies, postcards and buttons:www.rhizomecafe.ca/
Letterpress by Sam Bradd Designs: www.sambradd.com/
Cards and Photography by fierce green creations: www.etsy.com/shop/fiercegreen
Plant Medicines from Cease Wyss
Just Jingo Body Botanicals: justjingo.com/
Prison Justice Day Committee: http://www.prisonjustice.ca/index.html
Caitlin Ffrench: Naturally dyed yarns, handcrafted fibre work, and tiny secrets http://www.wewilltellyouallofoursecrets.com/

Plus – zining! 
While transitioning, Rhizome is carrying out a community zine project to reflect, connect and celebrate all that we’ve built together in the past 7 years. Submissions are welcome through June 30th and there will be space at Crafts for a Cause to view zine pages on display and contribute your own – a story, a memory, an image, poetry, whatever you’d like to share. All submissions will be displayed on the wall at Rhizome throughout the month. Many (though not all, because of space) will be selected for inclusion in the print version. The finished zine will be available for purchase in July.

For an accessibility audit of Rhizome see: http://buildingradicalaccessiblecommunities.blogspot.ca/2011/07/rhizome-cafe-access-audit.html

Rhizome Cafe is a licensed restaurant where you can enjoy tasty food and beverages during the event.

Advertisements